Museum of Dreams

I’d like to share the recent good news with my larger network. Related to my upcoming book and in general my research on early Italian cinema and its ties with visual culture, is my future involvement as Co-I in the British Arts and Humanities Research Council funded research project Museum of Dreams: Silent Antiquity Films in the British National Film Archive (October 2023-26), submitted by Prof Maria Wyke (University College London), with myself (Arts & Culture, VU) and Bryony Dixon (BFI) as Co-I, and in collaboration with various European film archives. The project will establish a better understanding of both the modern reception of classical antiquity and the transnational history and cultural status of silent cinema. By focusing on the BFI holdings and comparing them with those surviving in other archives such as Eye Filmmuseum (Amsterdam), the project will situate the UK firmly within the global network that produced, distributed, exhibited, consumed, and curated the classical antiquity films of the early 20th century, and establish for those films an important educational legacy in the 21st century. Just a few weeks ago we got the green light for this project.

~ by Ivo Blom on July 4, 2023.

Leave a comment