Lyda Borelli and the birth of glamour

Today I uploaded my article ‘ Lyda Borelli e la nascita del glamour’, courtesy Marco Pistoia and Bulzoni editors. It is the publication of a paper I gave at the University of Salerno in 2005, during the conference ‘ Attraversamenti. L’ attore nel Novecento e l’ interazione fra le arti.’ I’ll never forget the freezing cold at the aula of the university. Apparently, nobody had checked the new central heating in the aula, so we were talking with our coats and shawls on, and I caught a flu. I drastically changed my vision of southern Italy then. My paper deals with Italian silent cinema diva Lyda Borelli’, her roots in theatre, her representation in studio painting and studio photography, and the effects of these on her star image in cinema. Interesting papers at the conference were a.o. on Ida Rubinstein by Silvana Sinisi and Loïe Fuller by Silvia Carandini. See also the Bulzoni volume Attraversamenti, curated by Silvana Sinisi, Isabella Innamorati and Marco Pistoia.

~ by Ivo Blom on December 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
