Addio Suso Cecchi D’Amico

On July 31, 2010, Suso Cecchi D’Amico passed away, the famous scriptwriter of many films of Visconti, often writing in collaboration with others like Enrico Medioli. For my research I met a few times with Suso Cecchi D’Amico. When I studied at the Centro Sperimentale in 1986, she was teacher of the scriptwriting class. I cannot say she lectured in the classic way, she wasn’t a didactic. Her style was more a kind of coaching. She would not open up so much. She did more when I interviewed her in 1984 for my MA thesis and again in 2004 for a book on which I am still working (I regret to say, I’m in the rewrite phase). So twice I took the wonderfuld old elevator in her building in Prati and was well received in her refined apartment, surely thanks to the kind mediation of her daughter Caterina D’Amico. While Suso Cecchi D’Amico was immediately enthusiastic, open and talking in 1986, the first thing she asked me when we remet in 2004 was: Again Visconti? Ancora Visconti? Still, after five minutes she was talking again about her experiences. Always friendly, but also always with some distance. The interviews by her granddaughter Margherita, published in 1996, gave me additional information but also showed more personal sides of her life, but also of that of her father, the well known Emilio Cecchi.

When I was about to leave her in 2004, her good old friend Mario Monicelli came in and I asked him to take a picture of us. I publish this hitherto unpublished picture. So farewell, Suso Cecchi D’Amico, and thank you, Mario Monicelli.

~ by Ivo Blom on August 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Addio Suso Cecchi D’Amico”

  1. Another one of the great Italian film makers had passed away, such a sad event. But great that you had the opportunity to ask her about Visconti. Nice picture of the two of you!

Leave a Reply

 
